Underneath the Christmas Tree by Heidi Swain

Underneath the Christmas Tree by Heidi Swain

Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without some festive reads and top of the #TBR stack was Underneath the Christmas Tree by Heidi Swain. Heidi’s books are always a favourite, so I couldn’t wait to get hold of this year’s Christmas offering.

The Blurb

Wynter’s Trees is the home of Christmas. For the people of Wynmouth it’s where they get their family Christmas tree, and where Christmas truly comes to life.

But for Liza Wynter, it’s a millstone around her neck. It was her father’s pride and joy but now he’s gone, she can’t have anything to do with it. Until her father’s business partner decides to retire and she must go back to handle the transition to his son Ned.

When Liza arrives, she discovers a much-loved business that’s flourishing under Ned’s stewardship. And she’s happy to stay and help for the Christmas season, but then she has other plans. But will the place where she grew up make her change her mind? And can it weave its Christmas cheer around her heart…?

Underneath the Christmas Tree is the perfect festive read, promising snowfall, warm fires and breath-taking seasonal romance. Perfect for fans of Milly Johnson, Carole Matthews and Cathy Bramley.

Underneath the Christmas Tree by Heidi Swain, Simon & Schuster UK Ltd, 2021

My Review

Underneath the Christmas Tree was my first festive read of 2021. I am not feeling in any way Christmassy this year, so it’s taken me until December to even start on the winter books, which is unusual for me. However, once I got started on this one, I couldn’t put it down. I zoomed through it mainly because of the easy way Heidi writes as it makes the story flow so beautifully. Sometimes, you just don’t realise how much you’ve read (and sat quietly for) as it’s such a gentle, but compelling, read.

The characters and the setting are as charming and wonderful as ever, and the story is simply magical. The whole premise of the plot worked really well and Liza’s dilemma was very realistic. Being torn between head and heart is something many of us can relate to.

There are a lot of characters in the book and a lot of little sub-plots going on. However, none of those became overwhelming, or made you lose the main thread of the story. Instead all those intricacies added to the book and made it utterly enjoyable.

I will admit to damp eyes in a couple of places, not least because a couple of elements of the story resonated on a personal level. If only I could find my own Ned …

For someone not in the slightest bit festive, I really enjoyed this and would definitely recommend it as a winter read to snuggle up with.

Where to Purchase

PLEASE NOTE: Any link marked [AFF] is an affiliate link. If you click through and then make a purchase, I will earn a (very) small commission at absolutely no additional cost to you.

About Heidi Swain (Bio from Amazon)

Heidi Swain is a Sunday Times Top Ten best-selling author who writes feel good fiction with heart for Simon and Schuster. She releases two books a year (early summer and winter) and the stories all have a strong sense of community, family and friendship. She is currently writing books set in three different locations – the Fenland town of Wynbridge, Nightingale Square in Norwich and Wynmouth on the Norfolk coast.

Heidi lives in beautiful south Norfolk with her mischievous cat called Storm. She is passionate about gardening, the countryside, collecting vintage paraphernalia and reading. Her #TBR pile is always out of control!

Heidi loves to chat with her readers and you can get in touch via the links below.

Connect with Heidi

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram



Subscribe to the Blog

Keep up to date with the Ruth Tuffnell Blog

Receive a weekly digest of all my blog posts including Author Platform Articles, Book Reviews and Writing Updates.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top